The Department of Botany was established in November, 2013 in the City Campus of the University of Poonch Rawalakot (UPR), Azad Jammu and Kashmir. The department is dedicated to ensure the quality teaching and research in the different areas of Botany which meet all the educational standards of Higher Education Commission. It is the mission of the department to create professionally skilled and academically sound Botanists to resolve the recent challenges and to improve quality of the human life and economy of the country. At present the department offers BS 04 year, M.Sc. 02 year and M. Phil/MS 02 years programs. The department offers specializations in different areas such as plant phylogenetics and taxonomy, plant physiology, tissue culture, plant breeding and molecular genetics, biotechnology and genetic engineering. Particular emphasis is laid on focusing the application of current advances in plant molecular systematics, sequencing methods, genomics, environmental biology, plant physiology and DNA recombinant technology. The graduates can expect to develop their careers in various fields including Pharmaceutical and Food Industries, Agriculture and Horticulture, Environmental Laboratories and research centers. Students are also encouraged to participate in scientific gatherings like conferences, symposia and workshops to discuss and communicate their research findings with local as well as foreign experts in addition to learn new techniques and methodology.

Head of Department (HoD)

Ansar Mehmood
Ph.D. (University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir, Muzaffarabad)

+92-5824-960236 +92-5824-960079

Programmes Offered

  • Credit Hours : 18
    Duration : 6-16 Semesters
    Eligibility : The Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) is a semester based three year programme designed for academicians and researchers.
    Description :

    18 years of education with minimum CGPA 3.0. UGAT

  • Credit Hours : 30
    Duration : 4-6 Semesters
    Eligibility : M.Sc. Botany with minimum 2nd Div. UGAT
    Description :

    For academics and researchers, there is a two-year programme called the Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.)

  • Credit Hours : 65
    Duration : 4-6 Semesters
    Eligibility : B.Sc in relevant subject with minimum 45% marks
    Description :

    2 Years Master Degree Program

  • Credit Hours : 130
    Duration : 8-10 Semesters
    Eligibility : F.Sc. Pre-Medical with min 45% marks
    Description :

    BS 4 Years Degree Program

Full Time Faculty

Part Time Faculty